“Midnights” Mayhem – A Swiftie waits for the album to drop

Taylor Swift’s newest album is expected to be a masterpiece


Jazlynn Oyler, Copy Editor

I’ve been a die-hard fan of Taylor Swift for as long as I can remember. She single-handedly is killing the music industry. Between writing her own songs and re-recording her previous albums, turning them all into Taylor Versions. 

From many hints Taylor has released I wasn’t expecting anything new. I would have been happy for her to release a re-recorded album but instead, she dropped some big news on us on August 28th. She announced a new album, yes a new one, not a re-recorded one, to be released on October 21st. The night it was announced was during the VMAs after she had just won an award for Video of the Year, for her short film “All too Well”. 

The album is called Midnights, it’s about 13 sleepless nights Taylor has experienced throughout her life. We weren’t given any other information this night regarding the album. 

On September 20th she started announcing the track names one day at a time on her tiktok. She called this “Midnights Mayhem with Taylor”. She announced 8 songs within 8 separate days and the other 5 songs were announced (13 days before October 21st) on the same day only an hour apart. After using a bingo machine to decide what track to announce, she’d say the name into a red telephone, could this be a reference to her Reputation album? Another hint for future plans?

“The old Taylor can’t come to the phone right now.”

Needless to say, this all is a very Taylor thing to do. She’s known for dropping cryptic messages to new, big, things.

This album will be the first new one she’s dropped after 2 years since she released Evermore and it’s going to be her 10th studio album. Here are the tracks on the album; 

  1. Lavender Haze
  2. Maroon
  3. Anti-hero 
  4. Snow on the Beach (Ft Lana Del Rey)
  5. You’re on your own, kid
  6. Midnight rain
  7. Question…?
  8. Vigilant Sh
  9. Bejeweled 
  10. Labyrinth 
  11. Karma
  12. Sweet nothing 
  13. Mastermind 

Yes, you read number four right, featuring Lana Del Rey, if I wasn’t excited before I definitely am now. 

 Over some time many people have unveiled some possible hints she’s leaving for us. Track one, Lavender Haze, is said to be inspired by a previous 6-year relationship with Joe Alwyn. Track eleven, Karma, might be related to another album by the same name that was never released. 

What else is happening once the album drops? Well, Taylor thought of that too! She released a calendar for the following week with events that will be happening. Although, she’s left even more questions by doing so. 

Taylor’s Calendar:

October 21st: Midnights drop, Special very chaotic surprise, Anti-Hero Music Video Surprise, Lyric Videos

October 22nd: Exclusive Lavender edition vinyl at Target 

October 23rd: Visit Local record store 

October 24th: The tonight show with Jimmy Falon appearance 

October 25th: 2nd Midnights music video release

October 28th: The Graham Norton Show appearance